'Out of memory' exporting to DWG

Problems, issues, and concerns... Oh my!
Not for "I don't know how", but for "Revit says this but doesn't do it..."

Moderators: Tim Waldock, Andrew Munoz, simonwhnz

'Out of memory' exporting to DWG

Postby David Howe » 11 Jul 2007, 13:16

I'm unable to export to dwg from Revit 2008 - current build. My Revit file comprises a number of linked files to form a large multi-storey project but I don't believe this is the problem as all the views I'm trying to export print without issue (and besides - we're always told Revit is not just for domestic alts and adds). Anyone else having issues with exporting?

Machines I've tried are current dual core Xeon machines with 3GB of RAM and previous generation Xeon with 2GB.
David Howe
Active member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 01 May 2006, 09:47
Location: Sydney
Real Name: David Howe
Company: Edge Condition
When did you start to use Revit?: v3.1 2001

Postby Wesley » 16 Jul 2007, 11:25

I haven't seen this come up as an error, either in our office, or that of any other clients, and there are a number of very large projects running out there....

Anyone?
--------------------------------------------------
"the sooner you fall behind...
... the more time you have to catch up"
User avatar
Wesley
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 384
Joined: 20 Apr 2006, 20:45
Location: North Sydney
Real Name: Wesley Benn
Company: BD Group
When did you start to use Revit?: v0.2 2000

Postby David Howe » 16 Jul 2007, 11:30

Turning off the visibility of some of the linked models enabled the export to work, so it definitely appears to be a file size/memory issue.

...when will Autodesk compile Revit for 64bit OS - being able to address more than 3.2GB is becoming a very real issue here. (And dual core/processor would be nice too.)
David Howe
Active member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 01 May 2006, 09:47
Location: Sydney
Real Name: David Howe
Company: Edge Condition
When did you start to use Revit?: v3.1 2001

Postby Wesley » 16 Jul 2007, 17:43

Roughly how many linked files are there?

I don't have any hard and fast info on 64-bit, dual core, etc release dates, but I know this is VERY high on the priority list, so I would be rather surprised if we don't see a substantial change related to this at the next major release (early next year). I would not really expect to see anything significant before then.

Wes
--------------------------------------------------
"the sooner you fall behind...
... the more time you have to catch up"
User avatar
Wesley
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 384
Joined: 20 Apr 2006, 20:45
Location: North Sydney
Real Name: Wesley Benn
Company: BD Group
When did you start to use Revit?: v0.2 2000

Postby David Howe » 16 Jul 2007, 18:22

10-12 linked RVTs
David Howe
Active member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 01 May 2006, 09:47
Location: Sydney
Real Name: David Howe
Company: Edge Condition
When did you start to use Revit?: v3.1 2001

Postby Wesley » 16 Jul 2007, 18:29

Hmm, that's not that many - I was half-expecting to hear you say "oh, 50 or 60". In the past the number of such items (without strict correlation to file size) could introduce an issue, but not at his level. Have you tried turning on the ones you had off when it worked, turning others off, and seeing if it still works? In other words, could it be a problem with one of your linked files?
--------------------------------------------------
"the sooner you fall behind...
... the more time you have to catch up"
User avatar
Wesley
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 384
Joined: 20 Apr 2006, 20:45
Location: North Sydney
Real Name: Wesley Benn
Company: BD Group
When did you start to use Revit?: v0.2 2000

Postby Andrew Munoz » 01 Aug 2007, 09:31

I also had a problem exporting, but i found that if i turned off my DWG files which i used as underlays it solved the problem.
But it wasnt all DWG's, that was causing it to crash, only some???
User avatar
Andrew Munoz
Moderator
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 02 May 2006, 14:14
Location: Sydney
When did you start to use Revit?: v6.0 2003

Crashes when exporting

Postby chrisneedham » 13 May 2008, 18:50

I've known some content in DWG files to be directly responsible for crashes. Splines and some hatches are most suspicious on my list of culprits. I would think the issue is more likely a result of something related to a linked DWG file than a linked RVT file... FWIW.
Regards,

Chris Needham
C3 Consulting Solutions
www.c3consulting.com.au

REVIC Chairperson
www.revic.org.au
chrisneedham
Active member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Aug 2007, 10:26
Location: Melbourne

Postby David Howe » 16 May 2008, 15:57

All linked DWGs were off.

It was a long time back but from memory there seem to be some problems with having levels at 0 (elevation) in more than 1 linked RVT file at a time.
David Howe
Active member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 01 May 2006, 09:47
Location: Sydney
Real Name: David Howe
Company: Edge Condition
When did you start to use Revit?: v3.1 2001


Return to Buglist

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron